276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures

£9.9£99Clearance
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023

About this deal

I already knew fungi were fantastic, but Merlin Sheldrake has reinvigorated my love for this strange and largely unknown kingdom of organisms. From ancient fungi as tall as a two-story building to the largest organisms on modern-day earth, down to the tiniest hyphae that make up a mycelial network, Sheldrake explores what we know and what we don't about fungi and all the wild and wonderful possibilities just out of reach on the horizon. Hi! I'm Max and I'm a writer from Minneapolis, Minnesota. I've been freelancing for more than five years and love the freedom and variety that this profession offers. Animals are also a big part of my life, and a lot of my time is dedicated to playing with my cat, Herbie. The Best Children’s Books About Fungi: Reviewed and Ranked FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) In our opinion, the best overall children’s book about fungi is Mushroom Rain by Laura K Zimmermann. The questions grow more complicated. Mycorrhizal fungi are species whose mycelia penetrate and entangle themselves with plant roots. A symbiotic exchange occurs, in which the photosynthesising plant feeds the mycelium with carbon, and receives from it nitrogen, phosphorus and other nutrients. I nearly wrote “receives in return”. Descriptions of this relationship can barely reject the language of bargains. There is frequent adjustment. Plants funnel chemical information from the air to the fungus, whose mycelia bring similar signals to the plant from underground. In woodland, the network, involving numerous species, can be so extensive and dense that trees detect what happens to each other across long distances. Some people call this the “Wood Wide Web”. Harpignies, JP (7 July 2020). "Interview with Merlin Sheldrake, Author of Entangled Life". Bioneers. Archived from the original on 1 September 2020 . R