Magento Forum - UK Magento Forum (Unofficial)

An unofficial but dedicated Magento Forum for Magento Users, Designers and Developers

Newbie from Yorkshire & a Question

New members, introduce yourselves here...

Newbie from Yorkshire & a Question

Postby Marko » Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:02 pm

Hello to everyone,

I am new to actual web design but like what I see in magento, so I guess I will be squatting here for quite some time.

The feedback here also seems better than thee actual Magento forum or is it just me ???

I do have a question which hopefully can be asked.... it may seem daft but if you don't know ask, I was told.

Can a Magento site be used to sell using the affiliate system, ie, adding affiliate code instead of a normal payment gateway? and also linked to this, can a site be built without adding a payment gateway to it, say offering services that you dont pay online for??

Sorry if these questions seem daft but I would like to know.

Thanks in advance and hopefully one day soon I can help others.

Marko
Marko

Re: Newbie from Yorkshire & a Question

Postby edmondscommerce » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:36 am

Hi Marko

Welcome to the forum

we are also from Yorkshire - based in Leeds

Re your first question - not totally clear what you mean

As for a store without a payment gateway - yes absolutely - you can use the pay by cheque payment method, or there is a purchase order payment method (which is nearly the same thing). Either of these can be customised to say whatever you want - ultimately they are payment options that don't actually take any payment.
edmondscommerce

Re: Newbie from Yorkshire & a Question

Postby MagSupportNet » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:27 pm