276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Benriner BN-1 Japanese Handheld Mandolin Slicer with Three Interchangeable Stainless-Steel Blades-Ivory, Vegetable Fruit Cutter Peeler, Stainless Steel, Off-White

£9.9£99Clearance
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023

About this deal

It can definitely be scary the first time you use a mandoline slicer. For the uninitiated, many mandolines are just an extremely sharp blade housed in plastic, and you can easily cut your hand without a handguard. While Kyocera’s mandoline offers a slicing guard, it’s unfortunately too small for the job. When testing it on a radish, the slices came out messy and uneven. To get the thin, even slices that a mandoline promises, I had to ditch the handguard. I’m not a novice, and I almost got cut when using this one. Still, I’d recommend it as a starter mandoline. To help ensure you don't have any accidents, our experts say that one of the most important things is to always use the food holder or safety guard. They also note you should toss the small pieces of the produce or use a regular knife, as it's not worth slicing down to the very end and risking your safety. Make sure the ingredient and mandoline are dry and clear out the sliced product often so it doesn't cause buildup. Because all of the blade options are built-in features, the hassle and potential danger of having to change out and switch blade inserts is completely eliminated. The De Buyer Revolution Dicing Machine, which is made in France, is by far the most expensive mandoline we tested but we can’t say it’s worth the splurge.