Magento Forum - UK Magento Forum (Unofficial)

An unofficial but dedicated Magento Forum for Magento Users, Designers and Developers

Jquery and Magento problems

A forum for web designers working with the Magento system.

Jquery and Magento problems

Postby kappi » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:03 pm

Hello all,

I have spent the last two and a half days trying to get a jquery slider to work in Magento and eventually gave up. Instead I've used the scriptaculous slider.

Why has it been so difficult? I've used sliders in developing other web sites in the past with no trouble at all.

Has anyone else encountered similar issues?
kappi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Jquery and Magento problems

Postby adepta » Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:23 am

Did you force jQuery into no conflict mode?

Code: Select all
var $j=jQuery.noConflict();


You'll need to do this to avoid conflicts with prototype.
Adepta Software
Magento Certified Developer
Magento Development UK
adepta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:01 am

Re: Jquery and Magento problems

Postby robocarlo » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:58 am

Yes this may have been caused by conflict between jQuery and Prototype. Here is the solution i use to prevent such conflict,

Since jQuery and Protogype uses $, replace it with jQuery except when used for declaring variables, e.g.

instead of $.xxxxx, use jQuery.xxxxxx ,

Hope this helps :)
Magento FreeLancer - Magento Custom Developer Creative Themes, FME
robocarlo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:53 am


Return to Magento Designers

cron