Magento Forum - UK Magento Forum (Unofficial)

An unofficial but dedicated Magento Forum for Magento Users, Designers and Developers

Where is the html for <blank>

A forum for web designers working with the Magento system.

Where is the html for <blank>

Postby grok » Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:59 am

Hi, I am new to Magento and am working on my store in Dreamweaver with WAMP. So far so good, it's a fairly simple store with just 20 or so products and variation by weight (250g, 500g, 1000g, etc).

I suppose I like to see a top-down overview of where html code is stored for every spot in the system, but since I don't know if that's available, I am proceding with the strategy of just creating the functionality I need through the backend, and then using Dreamweaver to help me quickly identify the css identifier tags, and then use Windows Explorer to search the contents of the base\default\template folder for files that contain those identifiers. From there, since I am only really concerned with this point with changing how things are displayed and not adding functionality to modules, it seems straightforward to add divs and spans as needed. Does anyone see any problems with this approach? Also, are the blocks themselves mapped and described somewhere (including how/where their corresponding html files are used)? Some of them are obscure at first glance. At the moment it seems that Page and Catalog will be where I spend most of my time if I want to add non-dynamic content (?)